top of page

Qatar Foundation International and the Gilman Scholarship


On April 15th, I sent in this embarrassing video of my work-in-progress mash of Levantine/MSA Arabic. I spoke about Islamophobia, an problem I decided was an issue of global importance. The video along with financial aid information, my resume, SAR, transcript, proof of advanced Arabic classes at UMass/Five Colleges, and personal statements made up an application for Qatar Foundation International's Undergraduate Arabic Study Award. The award was for Middle Eastern Studies/Arabic juniors and seniors committed to studying Arabic throughout their undergraduate education. I did not expect to win this award and was humbled and honored to receive a positive notification on April 15th. The video is only slightly less embarrassing now. One of the unexpected extras of this award is 10 free hours of Natakallam. Natakkallum is a company partnering displaced Syrian refugees with students of Arabic over Skype for Arabic lessons. In this setting, displaced Syrians have a valuable source of income, students across the globe are able to improve their Arabic skills, while fostering intercultural exchange and building friendships that transcend stereotypes, politics, and the media. Although I hope to improve my Arabic skills with Natakkallam, I am most interested in meeting displaced Syrians and learning about their lives. Although we hear about lives of Syrian refugees in the media, meeting Syrian refugees face-to-face will broaden my understanding of the terrible consequences of war and displacement in the Middle East. I can read forever about the Middle East, but travelling and meeting others is the best learning experience, and one that I hope will help me to promote cultural understanding and tolerance for Islam and Middle Easterners throughout my life.

bottom of page