top of page

الملكة نور Leap of Faith: Queen Noor of Jordan


My love for autobiographies, insight into others' lives, their struggles, successes, failures began with trips to the children's section of the library. I remembers reading every book about Anne Frank I could get my hands on. I grew up with her pictures, illustrations of her, the confirmation that even at Anne Frank's age, I could be a writer. I was sad to finally grow older than Anne, but a love of autobiographies has plagued me since. There is something inspirational, insightful, shocking, secretive and human about learning about others' adventures.

I was surprised to learn that there was an American queen out there in the world. A woman who loved to travel and took the more challenging paths in her life because she knew they would be the most rewarding. I always like to say, if there's something looks very difficult or scary to me, it's probably good for me and I should do it.

Of course, I am aware that no one is the epitome of truthfulness. Noor's account of certain events or things that were said may not be accurate, but what news in the world today is truthful, summarized, reliable, and all-encompassing? I believe much of Noor's words, reliably upheld by the factual actions of her husband, King Hussein and his fight for peace in the Middle East. Her words along with my experiences and exposure have led me to call Leap of Faith: Memoirs of an Unexpected Life by Queen Noor of Jordan one of my favorite autobiographies. I first read the book during my junior of high school in 2013. I wish I had read more in-depth the first time. But it has been well worth my time to read it again.

Here are some of the most thought-prevoking quotes that continue to make me think, what is most important to the United States nowadays? When and why does the United States think war is a solution to conflict? Should the media ever or always be trusted? Why do certain news stories trap our attention and others do not? Has King Hussein's belief in the power of personal connections been thrown to the wayside in today's day and age? Could education be the solution to all our problems?

 

"Geographically, only an ocean separates America and Europe,

but their attitudes toward the Middle East and the use of force to resolve

differences are hugely disparate. Many Europeans equate war

with devastation and loss, not gain." (p. 322)

 

"Scandals such as Lorena Bobbitt's attack on her husband,

Tonya Harding's on a fellow ice skater, and O.J. Simpson's murder trial

dominated the headlines and made productive dialogue

about anything else very difficult.

For people living outside the United States,

America's extraordinary obsession with what seemed like

minor events was puzzling and frustrating." (p. 367)

 

"King Hussein always emphasised that true peace is not created by treaties

between governments, but must be built between people.

And to bring people together, we had to begin with our children...

Education and exposure can impress upon young people the importance

of resolving conflicts without violence, teach them the skills with which to do that,

and to make their voices heard in issues that affect them." (p. 385)

bottom of page