top of page

Round 2: Al-Macera

Al-Macera. The Arabic ال or "the". Macera (ma-je-ra) or adventure in Turkish. "The Adventure Round 2" as I've dubbed it to family, friends, doctors, neighbours, employers. I'm going on another study abroad to Jordan and it's great to receive more positive responses this time around. I studied abroad in Istanbul, Turkey in 2011 when I was sixteen. Turkey's government was fairly stable then, most people liked or were content with the then-Prime Minister Erdoğan. But they responses I received when explaining my soon-to-be-new life and incoming adventure were, "Aren't they Muslim there?" "Are we still friends with them?" "Are you going to have to wear the burqa?" (still getting this question about Jordan) and "Be safe." I wonder if my leaving and returned from Turkey has shown some of these people that the world is not the place they think it is, that I can travel to the Middle East safely (and return!), show that I've learned languages, knowledge of other people and cultures. Times change.

Well, my macera begins in 18 days and I'm both excited and nervous for what's coming!

  • Have I learned enough Arabic? Should I have been practicing Arabic all summer, somehow? I remember my first day in Turkey, in the seaside vacation town of Bodrum, my host mother and brother pointing to items and colours on the breakfast table - and I knew all of them. I had self studied and had made boxes of Turkish flash cards. All the words I self-learned would come to me here and there, but did they come out of my mouth? Rarely. This time around, I hope to care more about speaking (OUT LOUD) then remembering all that I've learned in Arabic classes for the past two years. I know how to speak some Arabic. And this time I do not want to worry about embarrassment and humiliation! I need to speak up and make mistakes or I'll never learn and advance!

  • Will I forget my Turkish? Yeah, maybe a bit. But I managed to spend two years not speaking Turkish on my return and then come back to an even more advanced level than I ended with after two years of small group classes. Languages come and go, but never completely, and only if you choose to forget about them. They may be just as important to you as close friends are. Take the time to continue the conversation. Seek out people and places (if you can't tell, this is me reassuring myself that I won't forget Turkish!). With my five years of Spanish in grade school, I don't have a connection to a place, but I've read about Carnaval in the Canary Islands, the European-ness of Argentina, the feasts and traditions during the Day of the Dead and Cinco de Mayo. Someday I'll go and spend the time in a Spanish-speaking country and dig out all the Spanish that is lodged in the back of my brain!

  • On an exciting note, I'll have great opportunities with the CIEE Diplomacy and Policy Studies program in Amman, Jordan. I have the opportunity to do an internship with local organisations and NGOs like the Jordanian Hashemite Fund for Human Development, Leaders of Tomorrow, Eco-Peace, and Generations for Peace. I'll live with a Jordanian or Palestinian host family and the Eid Al-Adha holiday will be coming up soon in September. I plan to travel to Oman and Tanzania to meet Boren and Fulbright friends. I'll live with a host family and I know nothing about them and won't know about them until I land in Amman. But isn't that a great surprise?! I've planned gifts for them, tried to organise my packing, hopefully light-weight, visited relatives and friends here in the states before leaving, and most importantly, tried to not have any expectations. It's a great mindset to avoid stress and disappointment in the end. I am very lucky to go to Jordan, on macera number TWO, with people to support me and guide me along the way. 18 days and counting!

bottom of page