top of page

The Beginning of the End

I always start a new blog with a “everything’s great!” statement. It’s difficult to write a blog, especially one you plan to publish. You want to grab your audience’s attention, document all important adventures, details, and feelings, but also keep your voice uplifting and positive. Writing these blogs gives me a confidence boost because I remind myself of all the amazing things I’ve been doing with my life. My daily journal is for all the anger, rage, sadness, disappointment, guilt, and regret I feel, not to say often! But sometimes.

I hope you enjoy reading. These are the stories I like to share with all, the stories that keep me going! Someday after a full reflection of my abroad experiences, I look forward to compiling all experiences and emotions from blogs to journals into something publishable. Study abroad is more that tangible experiences and easily-describable emotions and it’s important to document it all.

I haven’t counted the days since the start of the new semester, but the countdown continues to haunt me everyday. May 12th means goodbye, but also a new start. It means leaving people whom I have learned and experienced a lot with. It means a full summer with a trip to Italy (my roots!), a two-month CLS study abroad to Meknes, Morocco, and a wedding in Seattle where I’ll be a bridesmaid! My second semester in Jordan has been such an intensive learning experience, especially in regards to Jordanian culture. There’s so much to write and so little space.

I recently visited Jordanian friends and their families in Zarqa and my experience travelling to their town continues to give me trouble. Even on my fourth time taking the bus I ended up at the end of the bus line, afraid to scream “Let me off the bus!” but fellow passengers were convinced the foreign girl really didn’t know where she was going. It gave me another adventure to exclaim to my taxi driver and my hosts.

I’m writing a research paper in Arabic for my class about Jordanian attitudes and motivations towards learning English. My friends were of great help and we continue to have discussions that help me learn about and understand Jordanian culture better, especially when it comes to gender differences. I’ve really had to contemplate cultural aspects related to gender in Jordan as they are far different from American culture. The day ended with us visiting a relative at a hospital who had just given birth to a baby. It doesn’t happen often, but I almost turned around at the sight of around fifteen women, all new faces, crowded in a hospital room. Sometimes the shyness comes back really fast, but at least my hosts were there to coax me into the room and welcome me.

In the absence of classes for spring break, I had more time for my family, internship, and unfortunately, English. But, I have to say that it is OK to fall on English once in awhile in exchange for these memorable experiences, whether they be learning or personal experiences. Study abroad is not solely about learning a language.

Mothers’ Day in Jordan landed in March and I was happy to spend the day gathered around 30 or so family member’s of my host dad’s family. They always include make sure I’m included, but there is really no need. I feel included and understand most conversations and am able to laugh with them and at myself when I make mistakes.

One of my favorite places in Jordan is the Dana Biosphere Reserve, Jordan’s largest nature reserve with a beautiful and unique rocky and colorful landscape. Visitors are able to stay in various camps that emphasize the importance of the environment and many use little electricity and offer guests stays in simple white tents. We went as a group of seventeen, about half foreigners and half Jordanians, connected through various internships like the one I’ve had at Leaders of Tomorrow in Amman. Together we took a sunset hike, made a barbeque dinner, and played games around a campfire. Only during a game of charades when a friend came up to act, frantically smoothing her hair and continuing to point at me in our group, did I realized that I was the only American in our group. She had been trying to act out “Donald Trump” !

Stay tuned for more!

bottom of page